NATO flag

NATO - the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation was established in Washington on 4th April 1949. The present seat is situated in Brussels. The original aim of the Organisation was to protect against an aggression of Eastern Bloc countries. After the breakup of the Soviet Union, the main purpose is peacekeeping all over the world. Currently 26 countries belong to NATO, counting with France (one of the founders) which left the military structure in 1966.

NATO members (in brackets year of joining, letter &f& meaning a founder)
  • Belgium (f)
  • Bulgaria (2004)
  • Canada
  • Czech Republic (1999)
  • Denmark (f)
  • Estonia (2004)
  • Germany (1955)
  • Greece (1952)
  • Holland (f)
  • Hungary (1999)
  • Iceland (f)
  • Italy (f)
  • Latvia (2004)
  • Lithuania (2004)
  • Luxembourg (f)
  • Norway (f)
  • Poland (1999)
  • Portugal (f)
  • Romania (2004)
  • Slovakia (2004)
  • Slovenia (2004)
  • Spain (1982)
  • Turkey (1952)
  • United Kingdom (f)
  • USA (f)
NATO official website:

UN flagUN - United Nations was set up on 24th October 1945. Aims of this organisation with global range are defined as peacekeeping and maintaining cooperation between countries. The base is placed in New York, however the centre for Europe is situated in Geneva. There were 51 original members, and currently there are 192. Since 1st January 2007 the Secretary-General is Ban Ki-moon.

ONZ official website:

Red Cross emblemRed Crescent emblemInternational Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement consist of several legally independent organisations, that is: the International Committee of the Red Cross, the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies and the National Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies. The first one was set up by Henry Dunant in 1863. The second was established in 1919 and it coordinates operations of the National Societies which exist in 185 countries. The common aim for all of them is to reduce people suffering whenever possible, give help to victims of armed conflicts and natural disasters. The main principles are: neutrality, oneness (one National Society in one country), independence, universality (while giving help race, sex, class, religion, political opinions etc. are not considered), voluntariness (membership is not obligatory and given help is disinterested).

Official website of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement :